Day Four

It’s all about the breath…

Thats what I kept telling myself as I marched from the Bart station to the corner of Shattuck and Addison in Berkeley to start today’s busk.  I’ve been trying to focus on my vocal and guitar technique simultaneously as I’ve been busking and I feel like my attention to detail is paying off in small bits every day I play.  Which is every day.

I played for about three hours today and was feeling great for all three of them.  My finger chops are keeping up with my vocal chops and vice verse and I feel like I’m hitting some beautiful moments of harmony on the street for God and everybody to hear.  For example, I have this song called Peace Be Soon and during the end of it, I drop my guitar into “drop D” tuning and play in 5/4 time.  Then when I sing the tune, I go down to a low F# which is solid bass range for those you that don’t know music.  Anyway, as I was playing and singing that part today,  there was this dude that had walked by for the third time or so, and as I hit my low F#, he stopped, and closed his eyes for a moment and then said, “Thats the shit!  Thats the muthafukin shit!”  I could hear him saying “Thats the shit!” half way down the block as I finished the song.  It’s those kind of moments that I live for – that provide me with so much inspiration and motivation.

Money:  I felt like I did alright today with $7.35.  And one dude was walking by and offered me his food that his girl had made him.  It was a delicious tupperware container full of stir fried chicken, rice, onions, broccoli and carrots.  I definitely can’t complain!

There was also some lady in a motorized scooter that took my picture a couple of times.  Perhaps a bit creepy but flattering at the same time…

I was watching Godzilla Vs. Mothra the other day.  The moral of the story was that human beings have a sacred obligation to help one another.  Especially when that means killing monsters….  

Leave a Reply

