Day 21 – labor day

I remember reading about an Indian (eastern not native) holiday that was akin to labor day.  I can’t remember the name of the holiday, but it was mandatory that everyone rested.  Except the musicians, the musicians were required to play…a subtle difference from work as a musician.

A few nights ago, I met a fantastic musician named Steve M.  He was playing lap steel in a little ragtag rockabilly outfit.  They weren’t necessarily tight, but they had the magic in full force.  I had played a few songs myself that night and Steve complimented my writing and arranging.  Thanks.  So we got to talking a bit and I told him about my busking hoping that he might be interested in going out sometime.

Turns out he was.  So we met at powell after I had already broken a string.  I tell ya, there’s nothing like breaking a string to throw me off the music.  Thankfully, Steve had  a replacement so we could go for a while.  And we did.  He’s a heck of a player.

One comment on “Day 21 – labor day

  1. Steve says:

    Cheers brother, thanks for lettin’ me sit in with you. I’ll have to catch you at the Berkeley Station too.

Leave a Reply

