US Uncut

Have you heard about US Uncut yet?  They are a rapidly spreading organization that is protesting the cuts Republicans are proposing to education, social security, medicare/medicaid, public radio, renewable energy, conservation, and the like.

US Uncut is a mimic of the organization started (and quickly popularized) in Britain called UK Uncut.

Some people are already calling them the “Tea Party” for progressives.  I hope this label dies a quick death.  I wouldn’t even mention it myself if it weren’t already out there on youtube.  To identify this grass roots organization as left wing or liberal is completely misguided.  They are simply trying to do the right thing at the right time.  And the relation to the British simply makes a Tea Party comparison look ludicrous.

Learn more about them here:  http://www.usuncut.org/

So, US Uncut will be having a protest in San Francisco this Saturday the 26th at 10:30 am.  We will gather at the 24th and Mission Bart Station and then move as a collective to a nearby bank to stage the peaceful demonstration.

I’ll hope you’ll join me on this one.

And if you’re not in the bay area, then I hope you’ll look into your own location’s US Uncut grass roots organization.  These guys have rapidly organized around a unifying principle:  Make the banks pay their fair share.  They are going after corporate tax dodgers and are demanding they pay back taxes owed to the government.  This will help those that need the government support.  In reality, they shouldn’t need the government’s support.  They should simply need yours and my support.

I’m definitely not done revolting against the rich yet, but I think it may have been all that I needed to exhaust 30 years of pent up frustration about a system that I have understood to be corrupt and dishonest for most of my life.

In fact I think that any one in my age range should have their own little revolution against the rich.  It’s therapeutic.

So I’m going to be doing some both/and stuff with my new US Uncut friends this Saturday and keep the Revolt Against The Rich going for a while longer.

Leave a Reply

