Back To Blogging

My apologies if you were one of my regular readers.  I felt the necessity to finish school so I had to take a break from blogging.  But I graduated with my M.div last Saturday so that’s that.  Here’s a pick of my photocopied degree (I get the real thing once I pay the bill).

Now I’m back to music full time – and revolution all the time.

There has been a lot of stuff that’s happened since I took a blog break.  Bin Laden went down.  Which I thought was completely mishandled from all government and media angles.  If anything it confirmed the belief that I have held for a long time:  If terror exists in this world of ours – it is us Americans that are causing it.  And unfortunately the terror has become entrenched in our culture and deeply systemic.  But the only way to “fight terror” is to not be afraid.  Military action reeks of fear.  Non-violence is the only thing that exudes courage.

Most recently the young people of Spain have taken to the streets in protest.  Check it out here:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_Spanish_protests  My favorite part of what is going on there:  People are sending their politicians chorizos in the mail.

As Spain follows the uprisings in the middle east in the now so-called Arab Spring, I find myself wondering how far the spirit of revolution will spread…

I’m happy to report that I’m organizing with US Uncut in their protests of tax dodgers.  There is a growing momentum there as we’ve begun planning for our next action on June 4th.  I’ve also become supportive of the Peaceful Uprising which is happening around Tim Dechristopher and his act of civil disobedience a couple years ago.  Read about him here if you don’t know yet:  http://www.peacefuluprising.org/  This is climate justice activism as its finest.

During my blog break I wrote a number of papers for school which are quite topical and somehow inextricably connected to my blogging.  I’ll be posting them over the next couple of weeks, and am also soliciting editorial suggestions from any and all of you.

Finally, over these next few months I’ll be taking a new tactic with the blog.  I’ve been scouring the internet looking for all the applicable organizations, both local and global that are seeing the fruitlessnsess of capitalism.  There is a growing frustration with the greed and the corruption running rampant around this world, and I hope to document all the groups that are trying to do something about it.

I also hope to do some busking this summer with my new found time now that school is done.  Actually busking will become a necessity for me once again when my final school loans dry up.  But that’s alright because I love doing it – and quite frankly – the revolution belongs on the street with the people.  Not behind a computer screen.

Leave a Reply

