Debt Incurred

I’ve racked up a chunky bit of debt in obtaining my masters degree.  Now I’m confronted with a decision:  Do I hold true to the promise that I made to the system?  Or do I stop empowering the system with my refusal to participate?  The only way that the status-quo will change is if enough of us refuse to participate in the system.

Now imagine a world without money.  Can you do it?  This is a possible future that we could all create today if we so chose.

In this new possible world, there would still be “debt” but its definition would be slightly altered.  First let’s explore the current definition of debt.  Financial debt essentially means “obligation to pay” or “a promise to pay.”  Both of these definitions put pressure on the individual to comply.

Now consider the other side of debt:  The creditor.  The creditor demands repayment of the original loan and unless you’re lucky charges “interest” ; they often times aggressively pursue the collection of debt.

So debt in a financial sense is also a form of slavery.  The greater the financial debt incurred is the lesser amount of financial freedom.  And if you can’t be free financially, can you ever free your own mind to be free truly and completely?

In a money-less world, debt would still mean “obligation” and “promise.”  But there would be no financial element constraining those two terms.  This allows the words to mean what they really mean in the truest sense and thus become a symbol of trust.  So if debt is trust, then the greater the debt – the greater the trust.

Of course this is not a reality yet, but I’ve dedicated my life to the concept of freedom and all that it entails.

If we were to move onto an economy of trust, based on a currency of language, our debt would be something to rejoice over because it would be a reminder to us of how connected and dependent upon one another we all are.

So debt also becomes about meaningful relationship.  In this sense, debt can also represent pain.  The pain involved in a trusting relationship.  It can also be the pain experienced in our daily work.  Our labor is often difficult when done well, and there is true pain acquired to get to that point of our development.  But as the cliche goes: “No pain, no gain.”

In pain, there is a psychological element of confusion.  I’ve been told to understand it as necessary to life, but we don’t necessarily enjoy it unless we have a masochist streak in us.  So for the joyless debt, it would need to be balanced by joy in some form or fashion in order for us to be in harmony with our relationships and environment.

I, personally must have balance in my life.  The reconciliation and thus transformation of painful debt in to love is a reoccurring event in my life.

Of course, there is another beautiful part of pain:  I got a massage today and it was a massive release of energy/stress/tension.  Some big dyke goddess of a woman mashed my muscles into little strands of goo.  It was amazing.   As I’ve been out on the street promoting moral evolution, I’ve bashed the shit out of my legs and have generally put a pain on my body.  Massages are great to heal by.

So is comedy.

Leave a Reply

