Qi Gong

For those of you that have been checking my blog with any frequency, you’ll remember that I recently had a severe elbow injury.  I broke the radial tip of my right radius and my elbow dislocated also tearing a ligament.  So, in order to minimize the risk of my elbow dislocating at any encounter of  resistance – I decided to get surgery.  Now I have a steel plate and four screws in my elbow.

This has been the most painful experience of my life so far.  But I’m healing, and slowly getting back to my previous energy level and flexibility.  The best thing for my healing process has been music.  But the second best thing has been practicing qi gong.

The short and simple definition of qi gong is the study of chi.  It has been refined by the Chinese for the past 5000 or more years, and since I started practicing it I’ve discovered a profound new excitement for life.  My awareness has increased and shed light on my limitations – which is also very helpful for the music.  Every piece of Chinese wisdom is imprinted on the movements of the body which can be discovered through practice.

I know there’s a bit of a stigma concerning western white people taking interest in eastern practices.  But that stigma is no different then any other sort of unacceptable racism, ageism, tribalism, sexism, or what-have-you.  And quite frankly, qi gong has been the best thing for my mental and physical health that I’ve found in a long time.

Like any thing worth doing in life, you get out of it what you put into it.  That includes the healing process, and the pain that goes along with it is all completely necessary.  But I gotta tell ya, when I’m stretching my arm – it feels as if someone is banging on my funny bone with a ball peen hammer.

Remember to breathe.

Leave a Reply

