Occupy SF Update

Last night, (Wed 10-5) the SFPD arrived at our camp in front of the federal reserve. They provided us with a sheet of paper that had a list of “grievances” with our occupation. The paper had no date and no city official’s name attached to it.
Their first request was that we take down all of our tents and tarps (probably numbering about 40 tents and 15 giant tarps). We tried to be respectful and complied with their request operating under the assumption that we would be able to keep our space occupied as long as the tents and tarps were lowered.
As we waited, the number of cops kept on escalating. Then at about 2am, they made their move. Department of Public Works trucks pulled up and started throwing all of our stuff into them. Our move was then to block the trucks from moving, so we got in the streets and did just that.
Of course, we were greatly outnumbered by the police and they were exerting an unreasonable amount of force throughout the evening. One woman was shoved to the ground by the cops and then received a blow to the head drawing blood. She was a peaceful protester.
I was playing my banjo for/at the cops this whole time and repeatedly asked them to see the warrant to justify their illegal search and seizure of our private property. All them responded with silence, but the few that made eye contact with me seemed to be telling me that their actions were completely unjustified.
And now today (10-6) the police have begun to barricade off the area that we’ve been occupying.
Our constitutionally protected right to freedom of assembly has been systematically denied.

WE NEED YOUR HELP

We need permits to hold our occupation now. Please call the San Francisco board of supervisors. I don’t care if you don’t live in SF, call anyway. Here is a list:
Victor Lim
Legislative Aide
Victor.Lim@sfgov.org
(415) 554-7450 – voice
(415) 554-7454 – fax

Catherine Rauschuber
Legislative Aide
Catherine.Rauschuber@sfgov.org
(415) 554-7450 – voice
(415) 554-7454 – fax

Judson True
Legislative Aide
Judson.True@sfgov.org
(415) 554-7450 – voice
(415) 554-7454 – fax

Please call John Avalos now: (415) 554-6975

Police barricades are now up and blocking all Federal property at the occupation. SFPD is working with Homeland Security on the ground to block us in.

WE MUST HOLD OUR GROUND. WE WILL NOT MOVE. COME WITH US NOW!

Finally, on a personal note. For the past 4 days since I’ve been camped out – I have seen this opportunity to really reach out and touch people. I’m a pretty personable guy, and mostly very easy to get along with. I attribute this to my sense of humor.

Anyway, the funniest thing I’ve done so far is this: We are camped out right by the Embarcadero Bart Station. There is a railing that I can lean over to look down at all the people coming up to street level from the BART station. I figured this was an opportunity to put into practice some of the teachings I learned from Jesus growing up in the Presbyterian Church. Jesus told his disciples to be “fishers of men.” The idea is just too outreach to people – always a healthy activity. And so I wondered to myself what kind of “bait” you needed to fish for people with. In our culture, I figured the only bait you would ever need was money. So I went to the supply tent and found a piece of string and paper clip. Then I attached a dollar bill and a quarter as the weight. I then started dangling it in people’s faces as they took the escalator up from the BART station.
Not funny to you? I guess you had to be there…

Leave a Reply

