Offense

Apologies for not writing in such a long time. My life has been quite productive in the musical realm so I’ve not been paying as close attention to my writing nor the revolution. But it is certainly still happening.

I’m increasingly disconcerted. The Aurora shooting and now the Oak Creek shooting compounded by a fire at the Chevron refinery in Richmond and a mosque arson in Missouri are all further indicators that the social fabric is rapidly unraveling.

But can you blame these people for snapping and committing unspeakable acts of violence? The future looks bleak with the continued drought and the possibility of an impending food crisis. Meanwhile there is no real justice for the wall street bankers that have destroyed our economy. And the upcoming election is nothing but more meaningless political theatre. And so I imagine that more and more people will be going on the “offense” in our culture.

One person’s sense of offense will most certainly be quite offensive to another person. And so being on the offense is contradictory to the golden rule. But we are in a culture war… and information war. There is simply too much at stake to start killing each other.

And yet what is offense? Our amerikan media has so successfully desensitized the masses of our public that I’m concerned that people will feel the need to perform increasingly destructive actions in order to feel like they have a voice or any sense of power in our society.

To assume that we can turn this country around is naive. In all likelihood we’ll simply see martial law declared by the federal government. This is an affront to my sensitivities of freedom and so I won’t let it stand. The only reasonable thing to do is to start trusting people. There is too little faith in this country. And for those that do have some sense of faith, they are unfortunately compelled to split hairs about abortion and gay rights rather than talk realistically about the social problems of amerika.

In the interest of full disclosure and transparency, I’m compelled to state that I might be going on the offense soon myself. I remain nonviolent and so my offense will take the form of more blogging and more time invested in my music and political activism. Oakland has no shortage of outlets for this. And I’m quite interested in how aggressive I can make my music, since I know that until this point it has been extremely non-threatening. I feel this to be a strength since I don’t want to scare or threaten anybody. But at the same time, no one really pays attention to weak sauce music.

Leave a Reply

